Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to road cycling, so you'll have to excuse me if the following is a dumb question.

Two months ago, I bought my first road bike and started into cycling with my new girlfriend, who's a competitive road cyclist. I usually ride early in the morning, before work. It's a great way to start the day, every thing is so peaceful, I'm outdoors, exercising, etc. Moreover, I usually have a smile on my face, I'm waving at people and saying good morning or hello. However, most (I'm guessing at least 75%) of the people I pass or meet (going the other direction) do not wave, nor do they say hello, good morning, nothing, just a blank stare! So, my question is: why are bicyclist so damned unfriendly? Is it because they are so focused on cycling they can't wave, or say hello?

I've ridden motorcycles for years and there people almost always wave and are, some times, too friendly. It doesn't matter if you're riding a Harley and sport bike, what ever, most people wave. This is because there is a strong sense of camaraderie and people are just plane happy to be ridding!

Thanks. :)

· Carbon Fiber = Explode!
3,955 Posts
Everyone hates you Dave...

Cycling allows us to read inside you and see you for what you really are... AND WE KNOW WHAT YOU REAALLY AREEEE.

· Registered
3,866 Posts
I think it depend on where you live and how many cyclists you encounter. I can go a whole ride and not see one. I usually wave, but sometimes I don't. Most often when I don't, it's because I'm too damn tired.....

· Registered
381 Posts