Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have developed a very interesting situation this year. I obtained a new frame for my triple road bike during the winter and switched it out with the old frame. Same size and same geometry so we basically took the setup and components from the old frame and duplicated it on the new frame. From the measurements, I can see the new frame is set up exactly the same as the old frame.
I started riding my mountain bike at the beginning of April for 3 weeks without any issue. Also rode my double road bike a few times in April / early May, again without issue.
After getting into shape for 5 weeks I took out the triple and did 2 mountain ride in a week, I noticed that my Achilles tendons were sore the next day after the ride? Did some mountain bike rides the past 2 weeks, no problem. Took out the triple on Tuesday and did a 40 mile ride in the hills and had another bout of pain in my Achilles tendons? The next day my tendon were extremely sore. I have never had pain in my tendons in 25 years of cycling. All we did was swap out 2 identical frames, the bike is set up exactly as the old one. I was riding my other 2 bikes with no problem.
Both of my Achilles are very sore, so something is definitely wrong somewhere. The only thing of note is that my triple has toe clips, I have clipless pedals on my double but for whatever reason I kept the original platform pedals on the triple.
What can cause Achilles pain? I feel absolutely 100% comfortable on the bike, we just switched the frame, it's essentially the same bike with a carbon frame as opposed to an aluminum frame.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
11,555 Posts
You and/or a good physio is going to have to determine exact cause of your pain, but here are some general observations.