Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi riders,

I have been riding a road bike for about 6 months now, and other than a ride in Sonoma County last week, have mostly been doing 20 - 30 mile bike rides a few times a week locally around the Bay Area (Oakland Hills, Marin County, etc...)

I am determined to see more of CA, however, and one of those places is Monterey County.

I was thinking of riding from Salinas train station to a couple of the wineries on W Carmel Road, then riding on to Carmel, Pebble Beach, Monterey... before taking an evening train back to the Bay Area.

The only question I have is: just how difficult is this Laureles Grade Road climb?

If you're someone who likes to claim you can climb anythng, or someone who freaks out at the slightest incline, try to look at it from my shoes: I am no weakling, but at the same time I am not ready to hit the French Alps just yet either. I like a strong, steady climb to work the legs and build up the sweat, but if it's truly gonna break my back, I'm not a big fan of the idea.

Any insights? I'm planning this day-trip for some time in the first 10 days of August.

Thanks!

Tom

2006 IronHorse Road Race bike

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys.

I see the grade of Laureles Grade is only from ~400 feet up to what you said, 1200 + or so. In 2.5-3 miles, that's not a back-breaker at all.

I'm gonna avoid the 100-mile ride (thanks anyway, Jefff), but rather go for about 40+ miles, with a nice 90-minute stop at a couple local wineries for lunch and tastings (and spitting out!) sandwiched in the middle. Then a half-hour or so at the end chilling at the ocean by Monterey/Pebble Beach.

I like riding, but it would be criminal of me not to soak in all this beautiful countryside while I'm there.

Thanks for the inside track on Laguna Seca, number9!

T.

·
Registered
18 Posts