Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
1,271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although I have a current model carbon bicycle running Shimano 10s, I still find myself going back to my Columbus TSX, Pinarello Gavia. The ride and responsiveness is just that good. I even recently removed the carbon SP that I had been using for several years, going back to the ferrous Campagnolo Chorus SP with the "sculpting". Perfect.

Now the one drawback is that I am still running Campagnolo Synchro 8s with downtube shifters. O.k. I get the advantage of the shift/brake levers, I have them on the new bicycle, still the quietness and smoothness of the Campy 8s with a nice SRAM PC870 chain is so good. Front and rear derailleurs are Chorus 8 and I have a really good wheelset with Chorus 9sp hubs but spaced for 8 with a Wheels spacer set. Then I have another set of Chorus 8sp sewup wheels and other 8sp winter wheels. I even run a 7sp Sachs FW on the rollers in the winter.

I am looking for suggestions regarding how to move on from the downtube shifters. I'm still more than fine with 8sp but wonder if I should try to find 9sp or 8sp Campagnolo Ergo shifters. It's just my backup training bike so I am not interested in upgrading the entire drivetrain. Also not sure if there are some Campy alternatives from Miche or others.

Thanks for your consideration and advice in advance.

·
Registered
7,492 Posts
I checked eBay and there some decent looking lightly used Record/Chorus 8-spd shifters in the $130 - $200 range. Plus you'll need cables - $30.

I'm not sure you could do much else really. I'd stay away from 9-spd as there are 2 flavors of shifter over the short life of 9-spd.

When you get into the $200 level though, it's worth thinking of current Veloce 10-speed, which I have on a bike and like a lot for the price. Comes in silver so it won't look out of place. Cassette will fit a Chorus hub if it has ultra-drive splining. Cranks should be fine.