Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am have been looking on ebay and would like to get a used carbon bike with a decent group. I have seen a few (08-11) fuji team.105 and some ultegra bikes in my price range. I currently ride a fuji roubaix and have been happy with it but I'm a noob. I plan to be saving my money up so that this time next year I can go new for a CF >$2K.

The reason I'm looking now - vs saving more - got a few charity rides I'm signed up for and the roads I ride are typically chip seal crap. also please include any links about great deals if you have any - really hate the TC folks on other forums who say - thats too much or thats crap i got a "insert brand" for $1 - but never back it up.

thanks.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
Because CF can fail differently that steel or alu - and requires special equipment to detect those failures - I don't recommend buying used CF.

Assuming it fits you well, my advice is to keep your present bike, tailor your tire pressures to rider weight, tire size/ construction and road conditions and save up for a new CF bike.

Also, consider running a wider tire. Between this and tailoring f/r pressures, you'll improve ride quality substantially.

·
Registered
335 Posts
Agree with PJ352 about the wider tire lower pressure option. Much cheaper to try that first as even a carbon fiber bike can rattle your teeth with narrow tires pumped rock hard when traveling over rough roads. The larger volume of air will enable you to lower the pressure which will give you some cushioning over the bumps but still leave you with enough air to not have pinch flats ( which could happen if you reduce the pressure on narrower tires).

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·