Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Advice wanted on new front wheel (sub $200)

I have to replace my front tire. I'm looking for the best weight & best aero combo I can get for about $150-170 max. It's replacing an Americal Classic CR350 24 spoke wheel with American Classic Micro hub, that died. Other info: I'm just under 170 lbs, and use the bike mainly for commuting to work and sometimes riding by myself on the weekends. No real racing or anything like that. On a really good week I might bike 60-80 miles, but typically it's a little less than that.

I'm still fairly new to this, so I'd really appreciate any thoughts on some possibilities I've found:

1) Easton EA70. 740 g for front wheel, 26 mm depth.
$168 from Nashbar
Easton EA70 Front Road Wheel - Overweight Code W

2) Mavik Aksium. 800 g for front wheel, 24 mm depth.
$70 (!) for 2010 version on closeout from excelsports
Mavic Aksium Silver Front Wheel 2010 - Excel Sports
$150 for presumably current version from bikeshopliquidators.com
12796910 - Mavic Aksium Front Wheel/Tire (Color: White)

3) Mavic Ksyrium Equipe. 770 g, 24 mm depth.
$140 from excelsports
Mavic Ksyrium Equipe Front Wheel - Excel Sports

4) Neuvation M28X. ~860 g, 27 mm depth.
$80 (!) for what's presumably an older version Neuvation M28X Aero Front Black - www.neuvationcycling.com
(2013 model is $110)

5) DT Swiss R28. 790 g, 27 mm depth
$155 from modernbike.com
DT Swiss R28 Spline Front Wheel Clincher Black from ModernBike.com

6) Campagnolo Khamsin CX. 825 g, 24 mm depth
$125 for 2011 version from amazon
Amazon.com: Campagnolo 2011 Khamsin CX Front Wheel: Sports & Outdoors

If any of you have opinions on these wheels--what's the best buy for me, etc--or if there are any other ones I should consider, please let me know! Thanks.

·
Registered
104 Posts