Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got about 500 miles under my belt in the last 3 monhts running a 42 x 18 gear setup that gives me 61.6 gear inches. I know that is low compared to a lot of you, but I'm still pretty new to this and I didn't want to start off too high and kill myself on some of the climbs I have (not long, but some are steep).

At first some of the climbs hurt, but I didn't have to walk any. Just a lot of time out of the saddle.

Now I'm finding I can make just about all the climbs sitting down and I'm thinking of changing the gear setup but not sure what to do.

My average ride is 20-25 miles in roughly 90 minutes to 2 hours. At first I was fried after this ride, but now I can get thru it and it seems like a casual ride. Not ending on fresh legs, but hardly wiped out.

I have two thoughts and wanted some input from the seasoned riders:
- Stick with what I have for a few more months to get stronger in the seated position at lower RPMs.
- Up the gearing to 42x17 which gives me 65.2 gear inches and I'll likely be back to satnding up on some of the climbs again until I get stronger.
- I had thoughts of even trying 42x16 but I suspect that would definitely be too big of a jump at this point.

What is the conventional wisdom? Stick with what I have for now because I've just become comfortable and need to reinforce that, or up the gearing and perhaps struggle a bit at first, but get stronger faster?

·
Registered
5,524 Posts