Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to cycling in my 50s, picked up a Trek Domane 6.2 Disc 9 months ago. Everything stock except seat, tires (GP4KSII 25 or 28mm), and 11-32 cassette needed to finish DeathRide in July. Have been training solo on flat roads outside Sacramento, and also go out on a weekly group ride into the Delta. Lots of wind here in the south county during summer - headwind, crosswind, and of course my favorite tailwind. Averaging 19-21mph on flats, slower into the wind and then fast 23-30mph pushes when there is a strong tailwind, and of course speed differences from group vs solo riding. About 3 times a month go out on club rides from Folsom up into foothills (50-150' climbing per mile). On the heavier side at 6' 1" and 210lbs, slowly working on bringing weight down 20lbs.

Have been looking at these clincher disc wheels:
- Bontrager Aeolus 3 and 5 D3 Disc
- Enve SES 3.4 Disc
- Enve SES 4.5 AR Disc
- Enve SES 5.6 Disc
- Reynolds Assault SLG Disc
- Zipp 303 Firecrest Disc

Attracted to Enve because they have no weight limit, reviews I've read, and positive forum comments. Also seen some good reviews and owner experiences on the Aeolus, and they are about $500 cheaper.

Looking for feedback/experiences/tradeoffs on a couple things: