Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
728 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to road biking. Got a shiny bike and we're getting along just dandy.

Wondering what, if anything, you do after each ride. Let's say it's a quick 25km around the city on pretty crappy winter-salt roads.

Are you guys cleaning/lubing the chain after each? Tire pressure? New handlebar tape? :)

tanks. :D

·
Registered
620 Posts
Shower, beer, burritos...

...in that order. Just kidding! Here's what I normally do:

- If Nothing Bad happened, all I do is take some pressure off the tires (20 or 30 pounds, saves the casings).

- If the bike is starting to get dirty, wash it off with something mild like car detergent, then hose it down and let it dry in the sun. Yeah, I know...lots of people will tell you using a hose is a bad idea because a high pressure water stream can force water and doo doo into the bearings but guess what? (a) I don't use high pressure and (b) this is what a lot of the pro team mechanics do. Imagine you've got a stable of bikes that just survived Paris Roubaix. Are they muddy? You bet. Are you going to sit there with Q tips and water all day long cleaning each bike? No way...

- In between the bike getting dirty, I'll lube the chain (Prolink Gold), brake and derailleur pivot points, and so forth.

- If Something Bad happened during the ride, maybe I fixed it out on the road, maybe I decided to deal with it later. For example, I'm getting some cable stretch and my brake levers have too much travel. If it ain't no big deal during the ride, I'll make a mental note, and put it up on the bike stand after the ride and deal with it then.

- Back to the Bike Wash...after the bike wash, I always put the bike up on the stand, and do the following:

- Relube the chain, brake and derailleur pivot points.