Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
can anyone tell me which is the better buy. im new to road cycling. im in canada and the allez sport is $1000 plus tax and the elite double compact is $1428 plus tax on sale and is regular $1647. the sport has all sora components and double has all 105. is it worth it to pay the extra 400 for the 105 components on the double?

also the sport is 9 speed and elite double compact is 10 speed whatever that means

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
clipz said:
can anyone tell me which is the better buy. im new to road cycling. im in canada and the allez sport is $1000 plus tax and the elite double compact is $1428 plus tax on sale and is regular $1647. the sport has all sora components and double has all 105. is it worth it to pay the extra 400 for the 105 components on the double?

also the sport is 9 speed and elite double compact is 10 speed whatever that means
I think you may have your models confused. I changed my region to Canada (I'm in the US) and both the Elite and Sport are equipped with a 105 group. The Allez triple has a mix of Sora/ Tiagra.

Want to double check that and repost??

·
Registered
376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
no im pretty positive. this is the bike

the guy at the shop said this one was all 105 with a carbon seatpost and had carbon forks as wella s something else in the forks to make the ride smoother.

the sport which was all red was sora compnents, had less spokes and had no carbon seatpost and was 9 speed

·
Registered
376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ok if you look at the forls you can see the spots i was talking about.a grey marking and its on the seat post as well. sorry if im not making sence i dont know very much just have the need for speed and im looking for the best buy

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts