Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Calm like a Bomb..
918 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have been iking on the road now for about 7 months pretty hard, since early summer I have lost about 25+ lbs and now have joined a team and am riding about 4 times a week with some fast groups. So at first I was worried about calorie intake as i wanted to lose weight so i didn't take in many calories. I would still like to lose some more weight to become more competitive but now I am consuming about 300 calories before my long weekend rides and about 600 during the 3 hour fast rides on the weekend.

Lately I have been always feeling hungry, I am eating snacks and drinking water throughout the day but still alway feeling hungry. is this a sign of me not eating enough calories?

·
waterproof*
41,611 Posts
hard to say. are you eating the right mix of carbs/fats proteins? healthy, fresh fruits and veggies and whole grains? how's your overall energy level? are you losing fat but not muscle mass?

·
Registered
161 Posts
there is no WAY you are eating enough!!! 300 calories before a long ride? 600 for a 3-hour fast ride?? That's insane.
How many calories you burn depends on how much work you are doing, so the faster your rides are, the more calories you are burning. But (depending on how fast you are going) you are burning 400 calories or more per hour. And when you finish a hard ride, your metabolism is much higher than normal because your body is trying to lower your heart rate, etc, get you back to normal. So you burn extra calories after your ride too.
You need to eat a lot more before your rides so you don't bonk during. And enough food after so you can recover properly.
As the above person mentioned, the right mix of foods is important. Before a race or hard ride, you need to get a lot of carbohydrates. But after the ride, you need protein to help your body repair your muscles.
If you don't eat enough, then you jeopardize your training. period.

·