Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, been searching for a cyclocross bike that was SS/disc/steel without much luck. Closest I've come is the '08 Salsa La Cruz, which is pricier than I want. But I ran across an '07 Bianchi Roger (SS/disc/alum) and the light weight alum w/carbon fork was just too sexy for me to want to pass on.

Here's the issue though, it's a 57cm bike and I tend to ride a 55. I'm still relatively new to biking and have always just ridden the size I've been told to. I'm wondering what, if anything, I'm giving up by grabbing a slightly too large frame (with shorter stem and seat pushed up a bit).

Some notes... the standover is about the same as most 56cm bikes, so a touch high, but not horrible. I'll be riding it primarily as a commuter with some light mountain biking in their also... if I get really ambitious I might enter the rec grade cyclocross races (though I hear disc brakes aren't allowed, so maybe not)

·
Registered
5,270 Posts
What are your (1) overall and (2) pubic bone heights?

Have you had a chance to ride this bike, or is it a mail order deal? You can pretty much tell if a bike is too big or too small just by setting up the saddle height and going for a ride.

IMO adjusting the cockpit by using a stem as short as 90mm or as long as 140mm is valid, but adjusting the seat fore-aft is not.

A bike that doesn't fit is no bargain.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
5'8"... how should I measure the pubic bone height?

My pant inseam is 30" if that gives a feel at all.