Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
1,932 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

AP Wire said:
BEIJING (Reuters) - Unidentified members of the U.S. cycling squad arrived at Beijing airport wearing black respiratory masks, a U.S. Olympic committee spokesman said on Tuesday.
ADVERTISEMENT

One woman wearing a mask which covered the nose and mouth was in what appeared to be an American team T-shirt, photographs showed. A male wore a white T-shirt with BEIJING in black letters across the chest.

"I suspect it was their choice, you would have to talk to them as to what prompted them to do this. I will say this, I am not a scientist, but in my view that was unnecessary," said Darryl Seibel, chief communications officer of the U.S. Olympic Committee.

A U.S. team official said members of the cycling squad were wearing the masks but declined further comment.

Beijing's pollution has been a cause for concern for athletes heading for the Games which begin on Friday.

·
Registered
1,070 Posts
^ i agree. everyone keeps saying that the olympics should be politic free but it giving the chinese the games was a purely political decision. everyone thought that it would encourage better human rights and a more open system. right. its not like there were places with more space, better lodging, better air, less political strife, and better human rights. the air quality is so poor most of us wouldnt allow our pets out in it.

·
waterproof*
41,745 Posts
no kidding, +1 for the mask.

if they're smart, they're training with the things to see how it performs in competition. could be an advantage, who knows. maybe WADA will call it illegal performance enhancement...

... idly wondering how many olympians will develop post 9/11 syndrome...

·
Adorable Furry Hombre
32,324 Posts
Creakyknees said:
no kidding, +1 for the mask.