Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am relatively new to cycling. I currently have a Trek 750(hybrid) that was given to me for free. I couldn't even tell you what compnents it has. This has been the bike I use for women's triathlons (I'm working on my 3rd this weekend). It has some issues.
I would like to get a road bike. In the research I have done alot of bikes have Shimano components. When looking at bike shops I see Trek, Specialized, Bianchi, etc. I have also priced bikes at BD online. The lbs bikes are considerably more expensive for similar components as BD. My question is will a Mercier or Motobecane frame be as good as Trek or Bianchi. My gut tells me the real difference at the level of bike I'm looking at is the nameplate only , since the components are the same/ similar (Tiagra/105).
Any info might help me convince my SO (aka MacTavish- read cheap scotsman) that I really can get a decent bike at a decent price. Don't think he'll go for the $12-1500 pricetag. Thanks

·
ISL56
4 Posts
The frames are of good quality. I have purchased two bikes from BD. One Frame has 7000 miles, the other nearly 9000 miles.

Both have survived crashes.

If you buy from BD take your purchase to a local bike shop for set-up. What they (BD)have delivered to me in both instances was less than desired. My last purchase required crank work at the LBS before I was able to ride. ( I don't do cranks) I was able to fix/tune- up/correct other issues. If you don't wrench/have a stand, then take the BD purchase to the LBS.

That said, both bikes are/were excellent values, and I'd recommend BD's price/equipment value relationship to anyone....just be prepared to take the bike to a professional for a tune-up and final assembly. My LBS is happy to do the work. They make more money on repairs and selling me clothes and shoes than they do selling bikes....