Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie to this forum here, same old story. "I just got a sweet deal on a ____ frame, need help building...SRAM vs Campy vs Shimano..sragmanolo?...ETC"

The back story: I got into road cycling 2 years ago, did a medical non profit/charity cross country ride on my beloved Giant OCR 2 (upgraded to full 105), went from 180lbs to 150, got addicted to cycling. Unfortunately I ate from the tree of knowledge at my LBS and test rode a few quality carbon bikes, and I can't go back. I love my Giant and will always keep her, but "Time" to move on (corny I know, you'll see why) I'm a busy resident, love to ride, dream of getting into some local races, but with limited time most of my rides are solitary and at odd hours. I would say I'm an aggressive rider, but want to/need to improve climbing. I also enjoy long walks on the beach...oh wait, what site is this again?

The prologue: I "took the plunge" and put out some saved cash on a new 2007 Time Edge Racer. It was never built up but did not include a stem or seatpost. I went over my budget for the frame, and am trying to and willing to be (a little) patient with collecting components for the build.

Now here's where you real world riders come in:
I've tested SRAM red and Campy now and love the mechanical precise feel, even the sound of these drive trains over shimano. I want to be able to drop several gears at a time. My 105 is rock solid and besides the occasional skipped gear has NEVER failed even through Boulder utah, Rockies, or the Appalachians, and with very thorough and frequent maintenance has been shifting smoothly as the day I got it. However I want something different for my dream bike. Something more precise, more exacting.