Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very tempted to buy myself a set of 7801 SLs or Ksyrium ES. However, I am willing to be convinced that I can get more wheel for the money. I hear on this forum that handbuild wheels will be faster and more aero than a factory wheel. I'm sure that they can be lighter than the factory wheels, but the aero part... I'd like to see some evidence on that. Same goes for the raw speed of the wheel. The little bit of subjective evidence I have goes the other way. I've been riding the road for 15 years and have only had three wheelsets. A pair of tubular Cosmic Pros (about 10 years), a pair of Open4CDs on DA hubs w 14 gauge straight spokes, and a pair of Bontrager Race Lites. The two factory wheels have always felt faster to me, and they've all been plenty strong (they're all plenty heavy too of course).

· Registered
21,834 Posts
Wrong basis

epic said:
I'm very tempted to buy myself a set of 7801 SLs or Ksyrium ES. However, I am willing to be convinced that I can get more wheel for the money. I hear on this forum that handbuild wheels will be faster and more aero than a factory wheel. I'm sure that they can be lighter than the factory wheels, but the aero part... I'd like to see some evidence on that. Same goes for the raw speed of the wheel. The little bit of subjective evidence I have goes the other way. I've been riding the road for 15 years and have only had three wheelsets. A pair of tubular Cosmic Pros (about 10 years), a pair of Open4CDs on DA hubs w 14 gauge straight spokes, and a pair of Bontrager Race Lites. The two factory wheels have always felt faster to me, and they've all been plenty strong (they're all plenty heavy too of course).