Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Ti me up
1,242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My neighbor is looking to get started in road biking. He wants a decent-quality 105-equipped road bike. He's done a lot of research on specs. I've helped him out a bit. He's talked to several local shops. He's thinking that the best bang for the buck is the Motobecane Vent Noir at bikesdirect.com or Cycle Spectrum for $795. Next best deal I've seen at local shops around here is $1095 for a Felt.

I believe the company that owns both bikesdirect.com and Cycle Spectrum also owns the Motobecane and Mercier brands. Their prices are pretty hard to beat, and if you get a bike from CS, they'll do free service for life - not just adjustments, but also tune-ups, repair, etc. (you buy the parts, they do labor).

Seems like a decent place to start, but I have no experience with them and there aren't many reviews in the forum. Anyone have any experience with the Vent Noir? Alternately, he's heard a lot of good about steel frames (understandable, living next door to me), and the Mercier Corvus is the same price. I rode a Motobecane Le Champion with Ultegra for 2-3 miles on a test ride once. It seemed fine, but the fit was poor, so it wasn't much of a test.

Any thoughts on these from personal experience or from the spec?

Vent Noir: http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/motobecane_vent_noir04.htm

Corvus: http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/mercier/mercier_corvus.htm

·
Registered
263 Posts
Not to bash, but

I was looking at the Vent Noir (and Mercier until I got to look at one close up, and I was not thrilled-it just looked cheap to me). I could tell that the Vent Noir would require some adjustment and possibly a stem change. (there is a Cycle Spectrum locally). The salesman was not the most helpful, but I won't go further there. I might go to the LBS instead.