Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Tourist
989 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using the O2 rainwear yellow jacket for a few years. I've been reasonably satisfied with it, but I must say, the finish on the jacket is crap and it is not the most comfortable material, plus it scratches very easy. But for the price, it's a good one. Liked it so I bought the same after ruining the first one in a crash.

Now, let's ask for some opinions, here are points that would be nice in a wind/light rain jacket
- reasonably waterproof - not in heavy rain, but in light rain
- reasonably breathable - when biking, I know that nothing is going to be perfect and I'm always going to end up wet inside, but still, better than nylon would be good
- packs small - as small as possible ! The O2 rainwear jacket doesn't pack very small.
- goes up high to the chin - I hate having a windstopper that lets all the wind go through at the neck.
- bright color would be good - maybe even some reflective material, although this is not a big deal, I can add it myself
- would be nice to have underarm zips.
- and of course, a bike-friendly shape: short front, long tail.
- pockets: this is a nice feature, but not a major requirement.

Any suggestions ? Which of the points above does your favorite jacket cover ?

·
Misfit Toy
23,428 Posts
I have a friend in Florida who loves her Showers Pass Elite. Says it's very well made, waterproof and breathable-she gives it an A+. Seems to meet all your requirements, except it has no side pockets.

Showers Pass

·
Registered
5,193 Posts
Just took a look at REI.com

Had about 9 different jackets that appear to be of the breathable type, fairly wide range of prices too.

·
Banned
6,360 Posts
Generic microfiber--cheap, windproof, breathable