Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Any ideas/wish-lists for 3D printing?

Hey all,

I'm a Mechanical Engineering student that likes bikes and has an interest in digging into CAD software. I've designed a few things for use in consumer 3D printers, but haven't been able to think of any good ideas relating to biking that haven't been done already. If anyone happens to have an idea or two they think might be cool to 3D print, I'd be happy to dedicate some free time to making it a reality. I've been trying to learn surfacing lately, so organic and aero shapes aren't out of the question and are something I'm actually trying to practice, though no CFD is guaranteed :p

Not trying to make money off of this, if I design anything it'll be put up as a .stl file that you can just shove into a 3D printer and print out yourself. I don't have any access to high end bikes like some other printers, but I can definitely design ergonomic shapes for more common components. Load bearing things are usually out of the question for consumer printers though, they'll usually just delaminate quickly, unless you punch it to Shapeways and do it in a more robust process.

edit:: Couple ideas I've already had that might be viable
- Chainring to FD alignment tool, gruppo/tooth-count dependent
- Some sort of drop down holder that fits onto the front brake mounting screw to hold a plastic fender you can cutout from a plastic folder, kind of like an Ass-Saver except for your front wheel.
- Ergo handgrips to put underneath bar tape (scrapped until I figure out if adjusting my stem length would actually help me more, but here's a preliminary render)
Blue Product White Line Airplane

·
Registered
21,638 Posts
Hey all,