Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just wondering if anyone has heard anything about the 2009 roubaix line up. I was wondering what changes might be filtering down to the elite / comp models... is it likely that they may get the better frame of the expert or not?

Sorry if its a stupid question, i'm just getting into road biking from mountain biking and am after a roubaix elite...but am wondering if it s worth hanging on now to see what the 2009 models are like, or just go for a 2008 elite. (only prob is if i hang on too long the 2008 models in the popular sizes may have gone!) I now for mountain bikes theres usually some sneak previews of the next years models quite early on and sometimes frame / shock technology filters down the models quite quickly. Not sure if this happens with road bikes

·
Registered
50 Posts
2009 Roubaix Elite's are available - see LBS for 2009 catalog

It's been awhile since you've posted.

I'd recommend checking out new info in forum concerning 2009 Roubaix.

Although there's a price increase with 2009 Roubaix elites compared to 2008, you get a better frame.

Your LBS should have 2009 catalogs by now...

I was wrestling between 2008 Roubaix Elite compact vs triple... Unfortunately, none of the LBS in my area had a bike in my size 61cm so only option was compact.

LBS offered to convert compact to triple via swapping out and upgrading components for cost of parts only ( labor free ). That would place bike slightly below $2400. I decided to take plung and upgrade even further.

$1800 2008 Roubaix Elite Compact
$2400 2008 Roubaix Elite Compact converted to Triple ( ultegra components )
$3300 2009 Roubaix Expert SL Triple

I went with $3300 even though it's a difference of $1500:

i plan to keep this bike and ride it for next 5yrs minimum

figured i would upgrade later anyway as i became more experienced, stronger and better rider