Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
727 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am filling out my university application forms as we speak. I intend to go into a pre-b.a. for 2 years then into the faculty of education for 3 years to become an english teacher. I would be interested in teaching older grades (high school). I would like to hear from any teachers on here for some insights and specific questions.
I Just want a roll call for now-What grades do you teach? how long have you been a teacher? THANKS!

·
Registered
442 Posts
University teacher

I teach at the university level, though sometimes I get the weird feeling that I am teaching at the high school level. I have been teaching for 14 years (full-time for 8 years), including being a TA in grad school where I taught various lab courses (i.e., intro to psych, experimental psych, and learning) and was primary instructor in others (i.e., experimental psych, social psych, and psych of adjustment).

·
remodeling...me
4,177 Posts
I am currently doing my student teaching for a Masters in Teaching. My content area is English, I have a BA in English. I am in secondary ed which means I'll be certified to teach middle through high school.
In most states you have to get a Masters within 10 years to maintain certification. If you can find an MAT program it might be better to get a regular 4 year degree in English and then enter a accelerated or standard Masters program. It also gives you more flexibility in terms of careers since you will have two separate degrees.
Good Luck

·
Misfit Toy
23,426 Posts
bill105 said:
yyeezzzzzz...i am a teechur....a teechur uv zee llluuuvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv.
:eek: :eek: ***scream!!!!!*** :eek: :eek:

·
Misfit Toy
23,426 Posts
bill105 said:
pleezzzz...dont try to rezziisstttt my leetle flowah. let my learning pour upon you like zee meesty springtime rain.

·
Strained coccyx etc etc
21,050 Posts
bill105 said: