Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not a pro racer, but enjoy a good TT Frome time to time. I have ruined many handlebars by these clip on bars, and I am not terribly eager to ruin my WCS bars I have now. I could swap out the handlebars too, but that is a hassle any time I want to TT. Any tips that work or am I stuck?

·
Registered
8,224 Posts
Bars are either rated for clip on aero bars or they are not. After having ruined "many" handlebars, perhaps it's time to follow the manufacturer's recommendations.

·
'brifter' is f'ing stupid
15,563 Posts
Pretty sure the OP has answered his own question, he just doesn't realize it yet.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the condescending comments! I obviously am not that stupid. I mean scratching, not crushing. I don't want to ruin my bars by scratching them with the aerobars

·
Registered
6,832 Posts
What do you mean by "ruin"? You mean you cracked the bars many times and haven't quit yet? Or by "ruin", you mean just putting scratches on them? But if you think about it, a bar designed to take on clip-on has to be sturdy and beefy at the clamp region. That means no weightweenie carbon bars! Your WCS bars sound like a weightweenie one?

·
'brifter' is f'ing stupid
15,563 Posts
Thanks for the condescending comments! I obviously am not that stupid. I mean scratching, not crushing. I don't want to ruin my bars by scratching them with the aerobars
I figured you weren't crushing them. Pretty much impossible to not scratch them as you've repeatedly discovered. You can't put anything between the clamp and the bar that will both protect the bar and not slip. Your solutions are:

Merckx style TT.
Dedicated TT bars.