Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to the forums and cycling in general. I live in Toronto and am looking to purchase a bike and some gear. A total newbie to the sport, but am really looking to get into the sport. I was wondering if there were any Toronto members here that would be willing to help me out find a road race bike. I would be willing to compensate for your time and effort just looking to get a great deal and not get ripped off. Thanks.

Andy

[email protected]

· Road Monkey
38 Posts
Hey Andy,

I'm based in Toronto. I bought my first bike from a place called Silent Sports. They have a "Bike Swap" where you can buy a good used bike for a good price. I think the next one is in September, but google them and you can find out when it is.

They're up Yonge St. at Steeles I believe.

Its probably a good idea to start out this way especially if you are really new. The used bikes they sale at the "Bike Swap" are in good condition. The way it works is that if you want to sell the store a bike they'll either give you 80% of its value in cash or 100% of its value in store credit. So they're going to set the prices at a fair levels for buyers.

Let me know if you have any other questions. Another good place to look for tips is the Toronto Bike Network.

· Registered
35 Posts
I went through the same process this spring. I hadn't ridden in 15 years and decided to get back into the sport. I visited a few bike stores and read what I could on-line. Once you find a good bike store and get a general idea of what's out there, you should be ok. These links may help you with that:

http://www.bikeforums.net/showthread.php?t=348128

http://www.roadbikereview.com/cat/latest-bikes/road-bike/PLS_5668crx.aspx