Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
339 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Anyone else sit unevenly on their seat ? (I do, off to the right)

I have been riding for 20 years, on quite a few (most Selle Italia, but several models) different saddles -- minimal ones (I seem to like the Selle Italia SLR Carbonio Flow best of late, have it on 2 of my 3 bikes, and putting a somewhat wore one on the third soon), not so minimal ones, the original Flite back almost all of those 20 years ago.

I have always had the same issue -- I sit to the right, off center, apparently. I can see this visibly by looking down at the nose of the seat, where my legs (thighs) are in relation to the seat (more space between seat and right thigh, then seat and left thigh.

I also wear out seats / shorts faster, this is the real problem -- I wear out seats, rubbing away the covering, eventually, on the left side of the nose. And I will wear a hold on the left side of the shorts, inner thigh, and/or under the chamois, on the left side - before the shorts really appear to be done (I am going to try to patch a few I have hung on to).

Been this way as long as I have been cycling. Anyone else have a similar situation ? Done anything (what ?) to remedy the matter ?

I am thinking that my body / bones is not the same from left to right, in which case there might not be a solution for my problem. Curious if anyone else has encountered anything like this ?

Doug

·
Registered
203 Posts
Actually a very common problem. It can stem from a number of causes:
1. Incorrect saddle width - this causes a proprioceptive adjustment on the part of the rider to avoid the "wedgie" sensation of a saddle burrowing into the nether regions. Solution - get measured and get the right width saddle.
2. Leg length discrepancy - causes a pelvic drop/rotation to compensate for the discrepancy. Can be fixed with cleat stackers or cleat shift.