Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
394 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wondering if anyone here has ridden SkyMass in central Virginia. I'm new to road cycling but I have a goal to ride this route by Autumn. I live right at the base of the Blue Ridge Mountains only 20 miles from the swift run entrance to skyline drive.

I wanted to see what other riders experienced on this route so I can get a better understanding of what to expect and train for. Right now I can only make it to 50 miles or so before being worn out. By Autumn I should have that sorted out. My bike has a compact crank with an 11-28t cassette which has been fine for skyline drive. I was thinking about getting a 12-30t cassette for the longer climbs up each mountain range.

Are there any other known routes in the 50 to 60 mile range that would be good for training? I intend on riding a 40 mile out and back from my house and up route 33 to swift run sometime soon.

·
Registered
218 Posts
Yep, I'm actually doing an extended version on Wednesday. Compact with a 28 or 30 is plenty. The climbs on Skyline aren't bad at all. 5-6% is the norm. Mass is steeper at the top, but it's only a few miles long. The valley heading north is fast.

Work on your endurance. Eat and drink often. Pace yourself. It is a gorgeous ride

·
Registered
394 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yep, I'm actually doing an extended version on Wednesday. Compact with a 28 or 30 is plenty. The climbs on Skyline aren't bad at all. 5-6% is the norm. Mass is steeper at the top, but it's only a few miles long. The valley heading north is fast.

Work on your endurance. Eat and drink often. Pace yourself. It is a gorgeous ride
Thanks! I just started on some core strength training which already made a pretty big difference in my endurance. Only had time for 40 miles today but I felt at my strongest at the end of the ride. I should be pushing over 60 miles soon.