Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 123 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In college, I raced bikes. I love riding, and my flexible schedule meant that I could have morning classes, ride for 4 hours and then do my evening classes. It was awesome, and I got decently fast while in school. I used to be able to show up to just about any group ride and hang with the local pros, maybe even trade attacks here and there. It was awesome.

I kept the fitness after I graduated for about 3 years, when I just sort of burned out. I first tried to keep the same hours (~15-20 hours per week) and I found that I was not doing anything other than riding after I got finished with work. I then tried to bump my intensity and cut my hours, and that didn't work either, I ended up screwing up my knees and I was always sore and tired in a bad way.

I got frustrated and bought a motorcycle. Well, actually three motorcycles over 4 years. Sportbikes are awesome, but I obviously didn't get the same workout as a road bike.

I sold the motorcycles, and got into mountain biking seriously. I'd always ridden mtbs in college, I just wasn't that hardcore about it. I like riding mountain bikes, but the trail is a 40 minute ride from my house and it's not nearly as convenient as riding out my front door like with a road bike.

So with that, I've been trying to get back on the road bike. Of course, I'm slow as hell, and it kills me. I get dropped on the bigger climbs on my local group rides and I'm going to have to start riding with the old men if I want to have an actual group ride. It sort of sucks, it seems that I'm slowly working my way into MAMIL status.

Has anyone else struggled with the transition from racer to "regular guy"?

·
Registered
424 Posts