Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am specifically referring to MicroShift.

I'm a novice at wrenching. I've assembled my single speed from Bikes Direct, replaced cassette and chain, adjusted rear der., etc...

I decided to replace the tri bars on my Fuji with drop bars (please don't reply with geometry/handling concerns). I took care of the housings and ran the cables. The last cable was the front der. I had it on and tightened. I second guessed myself and re-tightened with my Park Tool cable stretcher and frayed the cable. I used the tool on the brakes and rear der with no issues. I was able to tighten the front der. cable but now there is about an inch of frayed wire sticking out. I would rather buy a new cable and make sure it's good before I wrap the bars. Hence why I'm looking to purchase shift cables.

Thanks!

·
Registered
21,726 Posts
II second guessed myself and re-tightened with my Park Tool cable stretcher and frayed the cable. I used the tool on the brakes and rear der with no issues. I was able to tighten the front der. cable but now there is about an inch of frayed wire sticking out. I would rather buy a new cable and make sure it's good before I wrap the bars. Hence why I'm looking to purchase shift cables.
You're not the least bit clear about where this frayed portion of the cable is but if it is at the end (after the cable clamp) then it is not a serious problem. You might even be able to twist it back to smooth and then either apply super glue, solder, or a cable cap to hold everything together.

As far as cables being different quality, yes they are. Some are not even stainless steel and so corrode easily. While there are a bunch of fans of various after-market cables, experience teaches that you won't go wrong with cable brands that match the brands of your components.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Here's a pic of the situation.