Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are titanium skewers safe?

I have recently heard of them breaking during hard efforts such as sprints or out of the saddle climbing. It would be a major bummer to have skewer break during a sprint. yikes!

I have a couple of 4 year old Ti skewers that I was using with my zipps but now with a new frame etc am a bit concerned.

Fwiw I also do more crits than RR's though I haven't raced much the last 2 years.

·
C 1/5
613 Posts
I've been using USE Alien Ti skewers for almost 3 years with no ill effect (almost 15,000 miles in that time). I've "bunny hopped" holes, curbs, and some snakes as avoidance measures with them on, and I've had no problems.

For background: I weigh about 155 lbs, and am a pretty smooth rider - and they've held up well.

·
Registered
21,831 Posts
Relatively safe

hardride27 said:
Are titanium skewers safe? I have recently heard of them breaking during hard efforts such as sprints or out of the saddle climbing. It would be a major bummer to have skewer break during a sprint. yikes!
You hear all kinds of stories, about all kinds of failures, but the question is whether they are true and if they are true, how freqently they really happen. In fact, many of the stories we hear are either not true or are a single/small number of incidents told over and over again such that it seems like it's common. Ti skewers are often a problem in that they can't apply adequate clamping force for rear wheels to prevent the wheel moving in the frame. As a result, people may tend to over-tighten them. If you think about it rationally, there's not much additional force on a QR skewer coming from your pedalling hard or standing up. Ti skewers are not a real good idea, but they're not some kind of massive safety hazard either.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
maybe not enough clamping force - not breaking