Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie who bought a bike from a dealer who specialized in proffesional bike fitting. After buying A $1000 bike I asked "arn't you gonna fit me?" So after some deep sighs they did some lazer measurements and put them into a computer. I thought wow this is great until he started to adjust the bike and every measurment was perfect and he didn't have to change a thing. Needless to say I've been doing my own adjustments ever since. I have gotten it alot more comfortable but still have tingling in my arms and fingers. Have been to a few other bike shops and asked them for help and have gotten a bunch of different reasons, all willing to help for $$$. My trust for bike shops is down to nill. Can anyone help to get me in the right direction so I don't get screwed again.

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
Tried gel padded gloves and changing hand positions frequently (every few minutes)?

These two things solved my hand numbness. Honestly, I can go without the gloves now as long as I remember to change hand positions frequently, but they do help when I get tired and forget to move my hands.

From what I understand, if your handle bar height and seat height are such that a lot of your weight is on your hands (rather than your sit bones), this will increase the numbness problem. I didn't have to make any adjustments there, so I'll leave that advice to others with more experience.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,019 Posts
simple2man said: