Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
591 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Short story: Have new custom steel frame, not happy with powdercoat at all, would like to repaint/powder with custom twist.

(story will remain redacted because there is no point in getting into it and I have no desire to have *big name powercoater*'s lawyers breathing down my neck, which they apparently like to do judging from other unhappy internet postings)

Custom Twist:

I'm a bit of an artist, at least when it comes to acrylic on canvas, and want to try my hand on the bike. (I'm done trying to get painters to make something "cool" and I don't want a flat, solid color bike)

Catch:

I have NO IDEA how to accomplish this.

I know I don't have the equipment/skills to get a good base or clear coat, so I'd like to have that professionally done (two trips: base coat, me play, clear coat. This shouldn't be an issue logistically with a local painter).

My acrylic company has informed me that if I sand and use an acrylic primer I can use my acrylics and then have an automotive clear put on. But I cannot have it powdercoated (heat is a problem).

I'm worried about the sanding since I'm not doing a uniform coat of paint just some artistic designs (think pegoretti, but not...), and I don't want the places where the base shows through to look gross and sanded...

Has anyone done similar? ideas on paint types (I'm far from sold on acrylics)? Paint that will "stick" to powder or liquid without sanding or a lot of prep? Way to do this with powdercoat or do I have to do liquid finish stuff to avoid the heat? Techniques that will help? Ideas? Irrelevant drivel that might inspire something? Sanding techniques so that the base still looks good when cleared?

(I will be using a brush, not an airbrush for the paint. Might be open to paint pens or similar).

·
Registered
591 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·