Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started riding two months ago mostly to get into shape and stay in shape. I am 49 and was getting pretty lazy and over weight until I decided to do something about it In February. I started by walking and doing calisthenics then bought a bicycle and started riding near the end of April. I have lost 40 lbs and am keeping it off so far. I am 5'9 160 now. I have been riding by myself so far and am up to 32 mile rides at about 18 mph avg. I am thinking of riding in a race in July of 52 miles. My goal is basically to finish the race. I was wondering if you guys have any advice/suggestions for me to get ready for this. I have been able to ride about 4 to 5 hours a week and that is really all the time I have right now. Thanks for any help. Kevin

·
δanned
7,006 Posts
You might want to find a shorter race such as 25 miles, give or take a few. If 4-5 hours per week is all you can spare to train, you may find yourself biting off a lot more than you can chew with a 52-mile race. I know your goal is simply to finish, but races are for competition, and the other participants will be treating it like that. Event rides like gran fondos and the MS150 are things where the goal is to finish. I don't mean to dissuade you from participating in this race, but what I do want to convey is that your mindset should be a bit more realistic when you're new to it.

·
Carbon Fiber = Explode!
3,438 Posts
Any race, even short ones like a 10km time trial is a PITA.

Also, masters is a very experienced field of riders.

·
'brifter' is f'ing stupid
15,670 Posts
Not to be a d*ck, but as Sauron posted, bike racers race to win. Lots of triathletes 'compete' to just finish their events. Gran Fondo is sorta like that too. Bike racing even at the lowest levels is no joke. I'd try to get in on some group rides w/ local racers and see how that goes.

·
Registered
2,906 Posts