Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,

Now that I am a grad student I have the whole month of August free and my wife has given the blessing to ride trans-north carolina, basically from the beach to the mountains. If you are interested in coming along let me know. I can copy the maps and send to you or look here: http://www.ncdot.org/transit/bicycle/maps/maps_highways.html i am riding the mountains to the sea. looking to do about 65-80 miles a day finish is under two weeks. the route is about 700 miles long. should be perfect weather. currently i'm in dc please just message me here or email at [email protected]edu .
brad

· On your left!
1,301 Posts
You will have a blast...

I did the Murphy to Mateo way back in 84 and again in 87. The mountain section was by far the most fun and memorable....

Once my son gets a few more years on him, I plan on doing that or maybe the BRP for a couple of weeks.

Be careful, keep a photo journal and hava a blast!!

· Registered
5,844 Posts
Some advice -- start in the mountains and head toward the coast. Your legs will be tired toward the end of the ride and you will appreciate the flat roads in the coastal plain. Unless, of course, there's a hurricane in August, but that could affect you anywhere in NC.

· Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
and you finish in the ocean as well. i was thinking that it might be better to start at the coast. i have done a lot of touring but nothing over 400 miles so this will be my longest to date. any other helpful hints?

· Registered
5,844 Posts
More hints ... I've never done any loaded touring, but have participated in quite a few supported cross-state tours -- including Cycle NC. Too bad that your calendar apparently prevents you from riding in Cycle NC, which is around the first week of October. I have ridden portions of that several times and it's well run and fully supported.