Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
soy un perdedor
839 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm no expert, but I assume this is what the Saiz scandal involves (they would be silly to be doing homologous transfusions like Hamilton). Cyclists are receiving their own red blood cells to boost hemocrit. I wonder if there is any way this can be controlled / detected. Will the UCI need to keep an continual log of everyone's hemocrit? Altitude tents are OK, but your own blood isn't (same result)? How can this ever be controlled?

I'm sure someone has better insight than me into the medical aspect of this. Anyone?

·
Not Banned
49,249 Posts
from what I've heard

autologous blood transfusions still leave markers. the 'old blood' can be detected somehow. It was part of the new testing procedures that also improved the homologous testing.

G

·
Hmm, I wonder if they use HbA1C tests, those who use ABT to dope would have abnormally low HbA1C levels since the centrifuged RBCs would have very little glucose to react with. I suspect that that the 'old' RBCs would tend to show up as an excess of 'new' RBCs - unless the process use to preserve the 'old' blood leaves some other telltale chemical marker.

Good question.

G

·
Thinking about it and the about the number of specimens found - it's pretty apparent that someone has found a way to mask ABTs from whatever current test is used to dectect them.

·
soy un perdedor
839 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I did some research

Looks like there is no test in place, but there are ways to detect it.

From Cyclingnews:

A test for autologous transfusion?