Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am doing a research project related to commuting. What is your average commuting distance for work and other tasks (groceries, coffee, movies, etc)? What is your average speed? What percentage of your time do you commute on your bike vs. car? Thanks for all of your help.

·
Banned
1,843 Posts
I ride to work 2-3 days a week (5 day workweek) from Sept thru Nov. and then again from April to the end of June (I'm a schoolteacher). The commute is 15 miles one way, 30 miles roundtrip with about 2500 vertical feet. Avg speed starts around 15-16mph early season and 17-19mph after a couple of months into the season (usually by mid-may). While it's a commute to work, I also use it for training with the terrain.

·
Resident Curmudgeon
11,980 Posts
I'm also a teacher - VERY soon to be retired - and have been a long time commuter. My commute is 18 miles one way. On the way to work it's all gradually uphill, and naturally the return trip is downhill. Speed?? Who knows? I'm commuting, not racing. I don't give a crap. I will say this...it's faster on the way home

·
Registered
346 Posts
tn29'er said:
I am doing a research project related to commuting. What is your average commuting distance for work and other tasks (groceries, coffee, movies, etc)? What is your average speed? What percentage of your time do you commute on your bike vs. car? Thanks for all of your help.
You should specify whether you are interested in travel time speed (i.e distance/door to door trip time), or "ride time" speed. Unless prompted, most people tend to quote their ride time speed, which is always more flattering, but doesn't say much about how long it takes to get to work.

FWIW, I ride 5.4 miles to work, with a door to door travel time of 20 to 24 minutes depending on traffic/mood.

·
Big is relative
11,887 Posts