Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am about to buy a new bike at my LBS, priced at what the manufacturer specifies on its web site. One thing I have learned while shopping is that there is little local competition for a particular type of bike. That is, if I want to buy Specialized, I am basically stuck with one LBS. Of course there is competition between manufacturers, but once I have found what I like, I am pretty much committed to one shop.

I am a newbie at this, so my question is: Is it customary to bargain on the price of the bike, like shopping for a car? If not, is it cool to ask the shop to throw in extras like pedals or shoes, or something like that?

· Have good, get give
964 Posts
You can try, but bike prices are only going up for next year in almost every price point. LBS are probably content to sit on what they have right now also given the gas situation amongst other things.

Things you can probably get is a year of service, 10% off or the club rate for gear for a year, etc. etc.

· Registered
152 Posts
It doesn't hurt to try. Offer them a fair price, if you are out of the ballpark there will be no negotiation. I bough a Specialized Allez last March, and I negotiated $50 off the sale price because the bike was an 07 model.

I still buy accesories from them and they remember me from my initial purchase they are very friendly.

· Registered
665 Posts
There's not a lot of profit there. Depends on the pricepoint too. Asking them to take $50 off of a $300 bike is different than asking for 50 off of $1000.
Often times you might be able to negotiate water bottle cages perhaps a computer. Maybe a few dollars off a helmet or shoes.

· Adventure Seeker
5,123 Posts
I've seen very few competitive selections when it comes to bikes. I'd imagine so retailers can remain profitable vs fighting each other and the customers lose in service and lower quality.