Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
odearja
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to start off by saying that I am posting this in the beginners section because for one, I am a beginner, and two, I am sure this is covered somewhere but my searches haven't pulled up the info I need yet.

This saturday is going to be the first good day of the year to go riding and I am going to take advantage of it. The odds of me getting caught in the rain are rather high. I just got my brake cable replaced because it was rusted and I want to know how to take care of my bike with it being wet and not giving it a chance to rust again. Any tips?

·
Registered
5,234 Posts
Most brake cables sold in shops are stainless steel. Sometimes OEM brake cables are galvanized, or just plain steel. But I bet you don't run into this particular problem again.

In general, bikes don't rust unless they're also dirty or they're exposed to salt or some other catalyst, or maybe if they're not allowed to dry. I keep my bikes on a rack by my front door, in the living room, or in my basement, which is partially finished. In other words, they get the same climate control I do. So when I come in from a wet ride, the bike dries out relatively quickly and rust is a non-issue. I do sometimes notice surface rust on my mountain bike if I'm bad about wiping the chain and relubricating after a muddy ride; I think that part of that is that the mud holds moisture longer than the bare metal, so there's more time for the metal to oxidize. It's actually not that big a deal, although I feel bad about letting it happen when I do. :p

The other thing that protects the bike from rust, particularly the chain, is that it's lubricated, and enough water will eventually flush that out. So if you hear your chain squeaking, relube it when you get home.

I could have sworn I remembered a good article, but I can't find it now.