Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Erfahrener Radfahrer
707 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Colnago Master X-Lite that I am considering turning into a track bike. I am wondering about the BB height, if it is high enough, or if I will have trouble with pedaling in the corners.

The velodrome at which I will be riding has 47 degree corners.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

·
Registered
147 Posts
IcemanYQQ said:
I have a Colnago Master X-Lite that I am considering turning into a track bike. I am wondering about the BB height, if it is high enough, or if I will have trouble with pedaling in the corners.
The velodrome at which I will be riding has 47 degree corners.
Any thoughts are appreciated.
I ride the steepest velodrome out there - the Forest City Velodrome in London Ontario and it's 50 degrees.

We have a go/no-go gauge on the trackside table that lets us know whether a bike will clip pedals or not. This gauge doesn't care what the BB height, crank length or pedal thickness is. All it cares about is clearance under the pedal. I've seen converted road framed bikes pass the test and prove themselves by not clipping pedals.

Of course "speed" is the #1 factor in whether pedals will clip. Go 25mph+ and you're 90 degrees to the track surface and could use 180mm cranks. But if our gauge says you're ok, go slow enough and you will slide down the banking before you clip a pedal.

What is this miracle gauge? It's just a lowly piece of 2x4 lumber used on its edge. I guess its red paint makes it special. If it fits under the low pedal on the flat infield you're good to go. I think the finished dimension of 2x4 is 3-5/8".

Of course it's possible that this won't be good for your track. The track's banking radius plays a large part in the g-force and your angle to that track. Just ask Bob who designed (and rides) the FCV. He'll tell ya.

·
Registered
147 Posts
TurboTurtle said:
This amazes me. - TF