Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey my dad and i are looking for new road bikes. Im pretty new to riding roadies (i am an avid mountain biker though) and my dad use to be an amature racer but we havent had any great places to ride on road so he got into mountain biking. Well where moving to a place with beautifull rolling roads and farms all around.and are looking into road bikes. mine is prolly going to be in the 1250-1000 usd range and his prolly under 1800 usd. what would u recomend. the brands sold near us are
giant
specalized
trek
jamis
bianchi
and oreba

I was thinking either a tcr 2 or a specalized tarmac elite double for me and a giant tcr composite3 or a trek 2100 for my dad.The roads we ride in some places resemble parts of the paris rubox race and in other places resemble a f1 race track (perfect and smooth) and are rolling to very hilly. lots of straight lines near the house and lots of switchbacks at the local mountain. Any help would be appriciated.

·
Registered
594 Posts
I'd honestly just go ride a few and chose the one you like best. If the LBS has a person that is good at doing bike fits that would be even better so you get a frame and components that actually fit you.
Unless you plan on doing all the work yourself, I'd almost shop for a good LBS at the same time as a bike. If its a crappy LBS, no use buying bike there in my opinion if your going to taking it back for service etc.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·