Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to the hobby of road biking. I recently sold my mountain bike and miss riding and would like something to commute with and certainly would not mind having the ability to ride some smooth dirt trails if the opportunity arose. A friend of mine who is a road biker recommended that I look into cross bikes because he claims that they are usually stronger, more comfortable, and a little more versatile as to what terrain can be ridden over, which all sound appealing to me. But what are the disadvantages? Weight?

Thanks.

·
Registered
2,227 Posts
For riding down roads, including dirt ones, nothing beats a road bike. When the road turns to dirt, you are better off with larger tires of about 25 cm wide. There is nothing wrong with a cross bike, but a road bike is designed to fit you for normal road riding, which sounds like what you wish to do. Advantages of a cross bike is you can add fenders and racks easier and can ride on trails if you wish. Disadvantages are the positions is a little tall for day to day road riding, but not a big deal if that's all you have. There are many affordable road and cross bikes out there at a wide range of prices. There are few "good deals", generally you trade off in one area and gain in another at the same price point in a new bike. In the end, find a shop that can help you with sizing and service after the sale.

·
Registered
165 Posts
mbryant52 said:
Hi,