Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like some opinions to my questions that follow this blurb, please...

We'll, now that I finally have a road worthy bike, I set out and did my first 5+ mile ride in over 10 years. For some background, I am a 6'7" ex-college athlete (15 yrs ago), who is now 275 pounds and needs to lose weight and get back in shape. I smoked for a couple of years out of college, but haven't in years.

My intention is to ride 3 days a week during my lunch at work, plus some additional time outside of work hours.

So, today I think I set my baseline, on my first 5+ mile ride:

16.46 miles
1 hour and 8 minutes
30mph max speed
14.3mph average speed
101rpm max cadence
58rpm average cadence

What do you think are reasonable goals to get me going in the right direction? Assume that I have 1 hour to ride, 3 times a week. and don't forget I am new to cycling and way out of shape....

As a beginner, with a lot weight to move...

What average cadence should I be shooting for?
What average speed should I be shooting for?
What should I be shooting for, in total time, doing the same 16.46 mile route?
What should I eat from the cafeteria after riding for lunch?

Here is my bike:

·
Registered
467 Posts
Just my thoughts(I am sure there will be at least 5 others in this thread that say the same)don't focus on average speed.Huge mistake.That is no way to guage your fitness and there are too many variables(heat,wind,hydration etc)to take that measure seriously.