Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I am a high school student and our school is having all the seniors do a senior project type thing, and i have chosen to build and learn how to ride a road bike, and how to train for a race. what my question is... what type of training is required for a beginner like me? like i said, i am completely new to this. i am a runner, so i am in good shape to take intense workouts. Thanks.

-chris

·
Apa kabar?
269 Posts
Beginner to beginner

I too am a beginner, so take my advice as just that. First thing I did was go to my local bookstore and pick up some cycling training books. From what I have discovered, most recommend developing a good base. This consists of doing longer length rides at a steady pace. The theory is you begin with a lower intensity, but higher time duration. Once the base is built, you begin increasing your intensity, but lower your time duration.
This can be done by mixing in interval training and speed training. This shouldn't be done every workout because overtraining and injury can occur. Usually 1 or 2 times a week for this is good. The type of training you do should correspond to the type of event you are training for. I have found with my training that variety is key. Establish your goals in order to help guide you in your training. This just scratches the surface on training, but hope it helps a little. Good luck to you and enjoy!

·
Registered
266 Posts
The key to cycling

Chungberrypie said:
does anyone have any suggestions? please?