Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm new to the road bike scene due to my recent interest in triathlons - I'm a MTB'er and am in need of some road tips/instruction.

Here are my questions:

#1. Should I sit while climbing or stand - in my most recent tri, I sat on the climbs and watched my speed drop from the high-teens or low 20's to 11-13 mph (rolling hills) - it seems like I could leave it in a higher gear and stand up to pump out those rolling hills and still keep my speed up - am I using flawed logic?

#2 What is a good average speed to shoot for on a 12-mile bike ride when I'll have to run a 5K afterwards? My last one I averaged around 16 mph -- it seems like I should be going faster - my training rides I did closer to 19 - but I wasn't dreading the run afterwards.

#3 How do you train for a run after riding hard for 12+ miles -- both tri's I've done my legs have felt like jell-o for the first mile - is there a good workout anyone can recommend to make this transition go a little smoother?

· Registered
656 Posts
1 - Both. Alternate between sitting and standing. Sitting and spinning faster will work your lungs, standing and pushing the higher gear will work your muscles. Don't put too much pressure on one system by alternating between the two.

2 - it really all depends. 16mph is a bit slow, yes, but you probably had a lot saved for the run. Work on utilizing your hamstrings in your pedal stroke more by pulling up with your foot on the upstroke to save your quads for the run.

3 - They're called brick workouts. Some people won't train without them, some people don't think they do any good. But in my opinion, practicing the transition can't hurt. Bike for about 90 minutes then hop off it, throw your shoes on, and run for 45. Your legs are going to feel like jelly, yes. But the more and more you do it the more and more you and your muscles will get used to it.

· Registered