Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:blush2: ALTHOUGH I AM NEW AT THIS TIME IN MY LIFE TO WHAT MAY BE CONSIDERED SERIOUS ROAD BIKING, I HAVE ACHIEVED THE ABILITY TO RIDE TWENTY TO TWENTYTWO MILES EVERY OTHER DAY. MY EGO IS STARTING TO GET IN THE WAY WHEN RIDERS I FEEL I AM UP TO PAR WITH ARE BLOWING ME AWAY AND GIVING ME THAT"LOOK AT ME SLOW POKE SMIRK!" TO COUNTER THIS I HAVE LOOKED INTO UPGRADING PARTS REPLACEMENT TO AT LEAST TRY TO ACHIEVE THE SPEED CAPABILITIES THEIR BIKES HAVE THAT MINE DOSN'T. I PRESENTLY RIDE A SUN DELRAY 700C 21 SPEED. I CONTACTED MY LOCAL BIKE SHOP EXPLAINING MY DILEMA AND WAS TOLD MY OUT OF POCKET WOULD BE AROUND $ 1000.OO. NEEDLESS TO SAY BEING AN OLD MAN ON A FIXED INCOME THIS IS OUT OF THE QUESTION. WITH THIS IN MIND THAT IS WHY I HAVE PICKED A PUBLIC FORUM HOPING TO FIND A SOLUTION BY SUGGESTION. ALL THOUGHTS I WELCOME WITH HUMILITY.

·
Registered
2,507 Posts
Ride what you have for now as long as it fits.
A better fit on the same ride will make a difference.
A more advanced bike with equal fit won't do much when it come to speed on the rides you are describing.
Read up on riding in a group, understand how it works and what is expected. If you are truly on par, tag on and see if you can keep up, not having to break the wind will easily make up for any issues your bike may have.
I still pull out a 30 year old 14 speed (was only 12 originally) from time to time.

·
Registered
53 Posts
I agree with everyone here, just keep riding more. I've been riding at least for 2 months and have noticed my speed increase since I started. Just be patient and ride more. After a couple months you'll be 'smirking' at someone else.

P.S. No need to yell, take the cap locks off.

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
Just ride your bike and ignore the other riders, and whatever they might be thinking. Who the hell cares?