Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys

I'm new to road biking but not biking in general, however I never bothered to understand the different parts and components of a bike and the function of each before. Always had my friend help me out with assembling and fixing my old mountain bike.

So my first question is can you guys give me website that teach a beginner like myself who know nothing of road bikes everything about road bike, assembly, repair, maintenance and the in and out of each parts and what they are used for?

My 2nd question is what the different between a race and endurance road bike? Are race road bike faster than an endurance road bike? Endurance road bike are more comfy to ride so I would assume that no one would want a race road bike unless it is faster?

My last question is about biking shoe. Do you guys use mountain biking shoe cause they have cleat cause you can walk on or do you still prefer road bike shoe? Does it bother you guys that you can't walk using road bike shoe? And finally how do you know which road bikes shoe to get or what clip in pedal to get?

Thanks

·
Registered
641 Posts
Sheldon Brown is known as one of the bike info gurus. His website is good.
Sheldon Brown-Bicycle Technical Information

Park Tool's website also is very helpful.
Park Tool Co. » ParkTool Blog

As for race vs. endurance, the difference is in the geometry. A race oriented bike will get the rider lower by default. It will be more likely to stretch you out in the upper. The wheel base is more likely to be shorter, resulting in a faster response though possibly feeling somewhat twitchy.