Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm just starting out with biking and training for triathlons and I'm looking to get my first bike. Being a college student, I'm on a tight budget so I'm looking in the $300-$500 range. I've been checking on sites craigslist and other used gear sites but haven't found any good ones as of yet.

What are some good beginner bikes that are relatively cheap?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,381 Posts
At that price point, you'd be better off getting a single speed just for training purposes, unless you buy used. If you don't have many steep hills, a single speed would work just great! That goes double for college campus travel.

Meanwhile, just save your money until you get close to $1200. Then get a really decent road bike. You can always sell your single speed, once you get close to your road bike price point.

Checkout www.bikesdirect.com and your local craigslist. REI has the Buzz One single speed going for about $450.

·
Registered
1,381 Posts
Thanks for the response. I'm mainly looking for used bikes. Do you recommend any specific brands to go with?

Thanks
For used bikes, I'd only consider major brands. Don't buy used carbon. Lean towards steel, unless the aluminum frame looks too good to pass up. Avoid dented frames at all costs.

Surly, Raleigh, Specialized, Trek, Giant, and Jamis are all great brands. Of course, there's also Bianchi, Masi, Cervelo, Pinarello, and others too.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for all the advice! I've emailed a few people about their ads on a few Treks, Fuji's and a 2009 Schwinn Le Tour but haven't gotten any responses as of yet.

·
Registered
223 Posts