·
Registered
1,070 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Registered
200 Posts
"best" very complicated

I'm sure they are great....maybe even the best. But I won't spend the kind of money it takes to wear Rapha or Assos bibs. They aren't worth the cost to someone who actually budgets cycling expenditures and needs several sets of bibs and jerseys each week.
Shoot, why even spend more than $100? I've been riding and buying stuff for over 20 years and I've found that the increase in performance and comfort once you get beyond the mid-range goods is marginal while the cost increase is often huge. I also want to wash them and throw them in the dryer and not worry about whether or not I'm ruining some super-expensive kit. So, I ride quite happily in $70 bibs and $100 shoes and let others blow their cash on the "best". If they work for you and you can afford them...great. But I think "best" should also apply to "best value" instead of only "absolute best." The mid-range stuff works great and doesn't blow a huge hole in the wallet.

·
Registered
650 Posts
bikemoore said:
I'm sure they are great....maybe even the best. But I won't spend the kind of money it takes to wear Rapha or Assos bibs. They aren't worth the cost to someone who actually budgets cycling expenditures and needs several sets of bibs and jerseys each week.