Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

I have searched through the forum for advice on what bikes are good for tall heavy riders, and again and again I hear that the best bike is the bike that feels the best and the only way to know is to have a test ride.

Unfortunately no one nearby (I’m in Sydney, Australia) stocks any bikes big enough (I am 6ft7, 105 kilos – 230ish pounds, and a 36-inch inseam), so there is no opportunity to test ride any bikes. The advice that I have been given is that 63cm Cannondales and Treks might be the way for me to go, but they would have to order them in for me.

I have now found what seems to be a great bargain in the US, and they can ship to Australia. I don’t want to spend any more than I have to, but I don’t want to get a cheaper set up if I’m going to be trashing my bike the whole time because of my weight (and because I’m a newbie rider!).

The two that sound good are:-

2005 Cannondale R1000 (&R1000 Triple) - $1,000US
2005 Trek 2100C - $1,000

They also have a few others of interest, but as a novice, I don’t know if I need anything better than the two previous bikes.

2005 Cannondale Six13 R2000 (& Compact Drive) - $1,400
2005 Trek 2300 - $1,300
2005 Trek 2300C - $1,400
2005 Trek Pilot 5.0 - $1,400
2005 Trek Pilot 5.2 - $1,700

Sorry for the long post, but I want to make sure I get the right bike! Your assistance will be much appreciated!

ps. What's a clydesdale?!?:confused:

·
Registered
197 Posts
Go with the Cannondale

I have a 38.5 inch inseam, and ride a 63 Cannondale. I think the Cannondale will be quite a bit larger than the 62 Trek. I am only 6'4", so it appears that you have quite a long torso. You would probably need a 13,14 cm stem. Good luck

·
Banned
141 Posts
chibs said:
Hi there,