Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using a Saris bones 3 for the past 5 years, it's a great rack but just went from an aluminum bike to a carbon bike. I don't know about you, but hanging a couple thousand dollars by the cross tube just doesn't settle with me very well. I'm getting a hitch installed on my car and want to know which standing rack is the best. I'm also looking for one in the price range of $200-$300. Let me hear what kinds that you have and why. I've read all kinds of reviews and nothing really stands out. Looking for some reviews from real cyclists, not the mom and pops carrying around their walmart bikes. Thanks

·
Registered
72 Posts
I recently got a Swagman XTC2 from the LBS. It fits a class II hitch and can carry one or two bikes. If you just have one bike you can remove a set of wheel loops. I don't have a lot to compare it with but it seems sturdy enough to me with minimal sway. I like how easy it is to mount the bikes. Worth a look for $206

·
Registered
4 Posts
That looks like a very nice solution. I'm also looking for a hitch mount to replace a Saris bones now that I have an SUV. The Swagman XTC2 looks like a great deal compared to the Thule 2 I was looking at...

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I've put only carbon bikes on my Saris Bones 2-bike rack since 2005 and never had an issue.
I guess my main issue is that I usually have my wife's road bike on there as well and I'm usually having to arrange handlebars, tires, and cranks certain ways where they won't touch. On the first outing with the new bike, we went out and when we got back I noticed that her crank had rotated into the downtube and scratched the cf. Wasn't happy at all.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I've been REALLY pleased with the Saris CycleOn Pro...