Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding my Trek 7200 Hybrid for several years and am looking to get a road bike for longer rides. I'd start by visiting my local bike shops, but test rides can be a bit challenging in Minneapolis mid-winter, so I thought I'd start here.

I'll be riding the trails and roads around Minnesota most of the time, and am a bit overweight. Comfortable riding position and ability to climb hills will be important.

In the $1200-1500 range, what do you recommend?

(Thanks in advance for sharing your experience!)

·
Registered
2,403 Posts
MplsKen said:
I've been riding my Trek 7200 Hybrid for several years and am looking to get a road bike for longer rides. I'd start by visiting my local bike shops, but test rides can be a bit challenging in Minneapolis mid-winter, so I thought I'd start here.

I'll be riding the trails and roads around Minnesota most of the time, and am a bit overweight. Comfortable riding position and ability to climb hills will be important.

Ken,

There's lots of good bikes in that price range.
It would help to make some recomendations to have a little more information.

Do you think you would ever want to race?
Do you think you would ever want to carry camping gear on the bike?
How important is the sexy bike factor to you?
Can you express "longer rides" in miles or hours on the bike?

If your answers are No, No, somewhat, and a few centuries a year then I would take good long looks at the Specialized Roubaix and the Trek Pilot. The Giant OCR's are worth a look and will leave a little money in your budget, but give you less sexy points.

It looks like this weekend we'll have test riding weather, I'd go check these two bikes out. Also, even if it snows, ask them to hook the bike up to one of their trainers and pedal it in place. Erik's has the Specialized, Penn's got both Trek and Giant.

Hope that helps
Scot

·
Registered
611 Posts