Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know, I know.............Wearing a camelback is a fashion no-no for roadies, but I'm new to the sport and my Camelback Mule I used for mtb'ing just seems to big and bulky for the road.

What has been other roadies' experiences with Camelback's? Is there a smaller pack that is sleek and can still store an air canister and a few tubes?

Thanks in advance for any adivce!

·
Registered
5,524 Posts
I have one made by Blackburn that is pretty sleek AND has reasonable room for a jacket, some food, or whatever. It's not much larger that a minimalist waterpack, but includes storage with a full-length zipper. The large, full-size waterpacks seem to be overkill for road cycling, and the minimalist neoprene ones with no storage lack the ability to carry any extra clothing, a lock, or whatever. I tend to use my waterpack for long unsupported rides when I need more than just 2 bottles of water and/or the ability to carry a few extra clothes or to shed a few. The last time I looked there weren't alot of options in the size range that I like.

·
Registered
843 Posts
Don't worry about Fredism

At least you're out there riding your bike. I would think that the Camelback rocket would be a great road hydration pack. 70oz and a little space for some extra things to carry when the weather changes or to avoid bonking on longer rides. It also has a semi internal frame to keep it off your back for ventilation.

Bob.

·
Registered
9,079 Posts
In Southern Arizona a Camelbak or something like it is mandetory equipment for 7 months out of the year for any distances over 20 miles. By May I will use one every day, and probably stop and refill it and my two water bottles on any ride over about 30 miles. I have a reasonably small one that holds 70 ounces, and some stuff. Go to a bike shop and look. You should be able to find one you like.

·
Non non normal
10,086 Posts